top of page

. Collection .

Photography is an antidote to amnesia, to silence, to the erasure of our consciences.

Through it, I hope to recall the presence of forests, to celebrate the majesty of this plant world
and highlight its vulnerability which is ultimately a reflection of ours.

Photography is not image.
I practice photography in which gesture and material play an important part.

La Réunion 2008

 

The Bélouve forest is a forest in the Hauts de l'Est region of Reunion Island. It occupies a perched plateau located on the edge of the natural cirque occupied by the town of Salazie. It is revealed once you have crossed the Bébour forest, when you reach the pass of the same name. It is partly a primary forest and is home to exceptionally rich flora. The diffuse presence of the high tamarind, an endemic acacia, makes it unique. Part of the forest has evolved towards the status of cultivated forest supervised by a method of reasoned management. Located in the heart of the Réunion National Park, the Bébour and Bélouve forests contain unique biodiversity. They are listed as UNESCO World Heritage.


Analog photography – Large format 4x5 camera,
Inkjet print - Fine Art Agave 290g paper
Format 40x50cm, 70x90cm, 110x133cm - Edition of 9 copies

Vincennes –  2012

 

The Bois de Vincennes, formerly Vilcena, is a vestige of the ancient forest belt which surrounded Lutetia. Located in the 12th arrondissement of Paris, it is the largest green space in Paris, with an area of 995 hectares including 450 hectares of forest. To protect its biodiversity, a charter was signed in 2003 for sustainable wood development. The diversity of ecological environments plays an essential role in its biodiversity, the forest remaining the first of these. There are mainly oaks, maples and pines, but also plenty of hornbeam, birch, chestnut, beech and lime trees. The presence of old cavity trees constitute refuge areas for certain species more sensitive to human presence.

Analog photography – Large format 4x5 camera,
Inkjet print - Fine Art Agave 290g paper
Format 40x50cm, 70x90cm, 110x133cm - Edition
of 9 copies

La Gomera –  2016

 

The island of La Gomera is home to one of the last rainforests in the Canary Islands. Although the island is arid in nature, the Garajonay National Park, listed as a UNESCO heritage site, is on the other hand covered in lush vegetation draped in mist and enjoying a stable temperature all year round. . These fogs are essential for the forest because they produce the condensed water vapor necessary and vital for the survival of this lush green environment. The creation of vast integral reserves prohibited to visitors as well as extractive activities is almost unique in the laurel forests of the Canary Islands. The forest has a great diversity of plant species, often drowned in a sea of fog which gives this forest a magical appearance.

Analog photography – Large format 4x5 camera,
Inkjet print - Fine Art Agave 290g paper
Format 40x50cm, 70x90cm, 110x133cm - Edition of 9 copies

Fontainebleau - 2016 / 2023

 

The Fontainebleau Forest, formerly called the Bière forest (derived from heather), is a large wooded area of 25,000 ha. 35 million years ago, the sea took the place of the forest. It deposited sediments around fifty meters thick. The forest floor contains up to 98% sand. This white sand is one of the purest in the world and is used for glassmaking (Murano in Venice), for optical fibers... This sand formed the rocky bars which characterize the forest landscape. The most represented trees are: oaks (45%), Scots pine (40%), beech (10%). The "king's bouquets" characteristic of the forest are oaks whose branches separate from the base. Initially a rare species, the Scots pine has developed since 1830.

Analog photography – Medium format 6x8cm

Inkjet print - Fine Art Agave 290g paper for color photographs

Gelatin silver print – Fine Art Barythé 255g for B&W photographs

Format 30x40cm, 40x50cm, 60x80cm - Edition of 9 copies

top of page

. Portfolio .

La photographie est un antidote à l’amnésie, au silence, à l’effacement de nos consciences.

A travers elle, j’espère rappeler la présence des forêts, célébrer la majesté de ce monde végétal
et mettre en lumière sa ​vulnérabilité qui est au fond le reflet de la nôtre.

La photographie n’est pas l’image.

Je pratique et défend une photographie dans laquelle le geste et la matière occupe une place importante.

La Réunion

 

La forêt de Bélouve est une forêt des Hauts de l'Est de l'île de La Réunion. Elle occupe un plateau perché situé en marge du cirque naturel qu'occupe la commune de Salazie. Elle se dévoile une fois traversée la forêt de Bébour, au moment où l’on atteint le col du même nom. C'est une forêt en partie primaire, elle abrite une flore exceptionnellement riche. La présence diffuse du tamarin des hauts, un acacia endémique, en fait sa particularité. Une partie de la forêt a évolué vers le statut de forêt cultivée encadré par un mode de gestion raisonnée. Situées dans le cœur du Parc national de La Réunion, les forêts de Bébour et Bélouve renferment une biodiversité unique. Elles sont inscrites au Patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco.


Photographies argentiques réalisées à la chambre 4x5,
Impression jet d’encre - Papier Fine Art Agave 290g
Format 40x50cm, 70x90cm, 110x133cm - Édition de 12 exemplaires

 

Vincennes

 

Le bois de Vincennes, anciennement Vilcena, est un vestige de l'antique ceinture de forêts qui entourait Lutèce. Situé dans le 12e arrondissement de Paris, il est le plus grand espace vert parisien, avec une superficie de 995 hectares dont 450 hectares de massifs forestiers. Pour protéger sa biodiversité une charte a été signé en 2003 pour l’aménagement durable du bois. La mixité des milieux écologiques joue un rôle essentiel dans sa biodiversité, le massif forestier demeurant le premier d’entre eux. On y compte essentiellement des chênes, érables et pins, mais également des charmes, bouleaux, marronniers, hêtres et tilleuls. La présence de vieux arbres à cavités constituent des zones refuges pour certaines espèces plus sensibles à la présence humaine.

Photographies argentiques réalisées à la chambre 4x5,
Impression jet d’encre - Papier Fine Art Agave 290g
Format 40x50cm, 70x90cm, 110x133cm - Édition de 12 exemplaires

 

La Gomera

 

L’île de la Gomera abrite une des dernières forêt pluviale de l’archipel des Canaries. Si l’île est de nature aride, le Parc National de Garajonay, inscrit à l’inventaire du patrimoine de l’Unesco, est en revanche couvert d’une végétation luxuriante drapée de brume et bénéficiant d’une température stable toute l’année. Ces brouillards sont essentiels pour la forêt car ils produisent la vapeur d’eau condensée nécessaire et vitale pour la survie de cet environnement vert et luxuriant. La création de vastes réserves intégrales interdites aux visiteurs ainsi qu’aux activités extractives est quasi unique dans les forêts de lauriers des îles Canaries. La forêt présente une grande diversité d’espèces végétales, souvent noyées dans une mer de brouillard qui donne à cette forêt un aspect magique.

Photographies argentiques réalisées à la chambre 4x5,
Impression jet d’encre - Papier Fine Art Agave 290g
Format 40x50cm, 70x90cm, 110x133cm - Edition de 12 exemplaires

 

Fontainebleau

 

La Forêt de Fontainebleau, autrefois appelée forêt de Bière (dérivé de bruyère), est un important massif boisé de 25 000 ha. Il y a 35 millions d'années, la mer occupait la place de la forêt. Elle y déposa des sédiments d'une cinquantaine de mètres d'épaisseur. Le sol de la forêt contient jusqu’à 98 % de sable. Ce sable, blanc, est l'un des plus purs du monde et sert pour la verrerie (Murano à Venise), pour les fibres optiques… Ce sable a formé les barres rocheuses qui caractérisent le paysage de la forêt. Les arbres les plus représentés sont : les chênes (45 %), le pin sylvestre (40 %), le hêtre (10 %). Les "bouquets du roi" caractéristiques de la forêt sont des chênes dont les branches se séparent dès la base. Espèce rare au départ, le pin sylvestre s'est développé depuis 1830.

Photographies argentiques réalisées au Moyen format 6x8

Impression jet d’encre pour la couleur Papier Fine art Agave 290g

Tirage à l'agrandisseur pour le noir et blanc – Papier Fine Art Baryté 255g

Format 30x40cm, 40x50cm, 60x80cm - Édition de 12 exemplaires